bedlamsbard: natasha romanoff from the black widow prelude comic (olivia (casett))
I feel like I've forgotten how to be fannish in journal culture. Fandom, why so weird? I'm pretty sure this is the first time I've been overwhelmingly, life-ruiningly, heartbreakingly fannish about something and barely posted about it at all. (Though if you've been on Twitter anytime in the past month, you've probably noticed.) Though not in a production kind of way, which probably accounts for some of the radio silence on DW/LJ, since I have no interest in writing fic and that's about all I can contribute to the fandom. (Uh. I should perhaps mention the fandom? Hobbitses. Ugh, my precious dwarven babies, I just don't know what to do with all these feelings. Except turn them into Narnia fic, because what the hell, brain, what the hell.)

*

Hmm hmm hmm. I saw the Fringe finale -- this is one of two shows that I have watched straight through from pilot to finale, more or less as aired. I've seen a lot of shows from beginning to end, but usually I pick up the first season on DVD or Netflix or something, not as aired. Actually, I think this is a lie, I think it's three shows -- I always forget about Harper's Island because it only lasted one season, so it feels more like a miniseries than a show. The other one is The Unit. (I MISS YOU UNIT. Man, I think that was the year that the PTB cancelled three or four of my favorite shows in one fell swoop.) Fringe...I don't know what to say about the finale, really. It ended on a trope I'm not particularly fond of, so that makes me unhappy, but I'm not sure what else they could have done.

Fringe is the show that was there for me all through my undergraduate years and through this year. It premiered the same year that I started college, and I guess that it's appropriate that it ended when I was in graduate school. It made some strange choices these past few years, I don't think anybody will disagree with that, but...it was the show that I started the year that I moved away from home. It was the show that I was still watching when I moved out of the country. I have the first season on DVD and I started rewatching it a few days ago -- I always like going back to the beginning after seeing the end of things -- and, gods. It's not perfect, but there's just something about it. I can remember how world-shattering it was to me the first time I saw the pilot, what's still world-shattering to me: a woman with a gun, a woman saving a man, a man fridged -- almost literally -- so that a woman can go out and do things. That was spectacular to me at eighteen. It still is today at 23. I'm sad to see the show go, but man, they lived life on the edge, and some days, they were fantastic.

*

Classes start tomorrow. My main goal for the term is to be a little more organized -- did I mention that I got one of the deadlines for a final paper wrong? I realized it a week before it was due, but STILL. That is the second deadline I got wrong for that class. I ONLY HAD TWO DEADLINES FOR THAT CLASS. So that is a thing which I hope not to do this term.
bedlamsbard: natasha romanoff from the black widow prelude comic (olivia (casett))
OH MY GOD FRINGE. If this had been the season finale I MAY HAVE EXPIRED RIGHT AT MY DESK AN HOUR AND A HALF BEFORE MY SHAKESPEARE FINAL.

NEED TO FLAIL (spoilers, obviously) )

I WOULD LIKE IT TO BE NEXT WEEK PLEASE. Wait, no, I don't, next Saturday I shall be panicking and moving out and I'm just not ready for that yet.
bedlamsbard: natasha romanoff from the black widow prelude comic (bring it starbuck (scifi-tv-addict))
I am caught up on Fringe (next up...probably Castle or Criminal Minds, I think I'm leaning towards Castle), and all I have to say is, "OLIVIA. BABY. KICK MORE ASS."

My lips to the gods' ears, my favorite female character on television right now. Possibly one of my favorite characters on television right now, period. I love it when she beats people up.

(...omg, I want a Fringe/T:SCC crossover. Olivia Dunham meets Sarah Connor. Um. *brain explodes from awesome*)
bedlamsbard: natasha romanoff from the black widow prelude comic (bring it starbuck (scifi-tv-addict))
Holy shit, Fringe. *falls over* Um, is it September yet? I am ready for the next season!

random thoughts; cut for spoilers )

*fans self* Two season finales down, more to go. I'm not sure I can deal. What do I have left -- Lost, Criminal Minds, Big Bang Theory (although I don't expect this one to kill me), Dancing With the Stars (may kill me if Evan "the Robot" Lysacek wins), um...I'm not sure what Glee's doing, but I have no emotional involvement in this show whatsoever and only watch it for the music and the fail. (Seriously, why couldn't I have watched Bones instead of Glee? I got nothin', guys, nothin' at all. I'm still not sure why I didn't keep up with Bones and Supernatural this season; time, I guess.) I need to catch up with Caprica, but that's running on a different schedule anyway. Most of my favorite shows got cancelled last season, so at least I don't have to freak out about that. (One on each network -- CBS, NBC, and FOX. I will rant about this to anyone who wants to hear.) Still have not watched any of Friday Night Lights S4, which just started airing but which I am already behind on. Must catch up with Lost and Caprica; preferably Lost over the next two days so I can watch the series finale live on Tuesday.

Profile

bedlamsbard: natasha romanoff from the black widow prelude comic (Default)
bedlamsbard

December 2022

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 31

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags